This week on Limited Resources Marshall and Luis welcome Level 5 Magic judge Toby Elliott on the show to talk about the new mechanics and rules from Battle for Zendikar!
Toby’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/tobyelliott
Judge Chat: IRC Freenet MTGJudge
Limited Resources is proudly sponsored by ChannelFireball.com
You can support Limited Resources on the LR Patreon page here: LR Patreon Page
Your Hosts: Marshall Sutcliffe and Luis Scott-Vargas
Marshall’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/Marshall_LR
Luis’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/lsv
LR Community Subreddit: http://www.reddit.com/r/lrcast
Contact Marshall_LR on Magic Online if you’d like to join the Limited Resources clan.
Gideon can become an ally by its own + ability. If you intent to return him with encampment there is your way to do it.
This also confused me as well. Gideon, Ally of Zendikar says “Until end of turn, Gideon, Ally of Zendikar becomes a 5/5 Human Soldier Ally creature with indestructible that’s still a planeswalker.” Doesn’t this mean he’s now a Human Soldier Ally creature and is able to be targeted by the encampment? Perhaps the judge wasn’t thinking about the ability itself and just thinking about the name of the card?
I think they meant when he has not been +1ed. In his usual state he can not be returned.
Can I process igniting planeswalker with Ulamog’s Nullifier, or with more words: can I process cards without having a spell to counter? and is that transformation something I can respond to?
The PW exiles itself and returns back all as the resolution of one ability. You can’t interact with it in the middle of its ability.
You can respond to the trigger for the transformation as each of the planeswalkers have a triggered ability that results in them “sparking”. However, while the trigger is on the stack is when you can respond to it and at the time, they are not exiled, they are still on the battlefield. After you allow the trigger to resolve they have exiled themselves and returned to the battlefield as the planeswalker. You don’t have priority at any point in-between to take actions because it’s all a part of the same ability.
In addition, if you’re asking about Ulamog’s Nullifier, for example, you can play it, but you can only use it’s “processor” ability to return cards from your opponent’s exile to their graveyard if there would be a spell to counter. There must be a valid target for each target a spell or ability has.
Was disappointed not to hear anything about the iterations of awaken on man lands. The base power and toughness change may not be very intuitive and I would expect it to come up fairly often in limited.
The thing about ingest/process that made me want to cry when I realized it is that it’s a grindy control mechanic…that requires me to be attacking (and hitting) my opponent for it to work. So…3+ copies of Benthic Infiltrator or bust? (I exaggerate, but I like to think that at least in principle, I’m not wrong.)
Thank you for explaining the acronym in the beginning of the cast. I have been out of limited for a while and decided to go back for this release. I haven’t listened to this podcast for a while and so I didn’t know what you guys were talking about and so I really appreciated the explanation. I think the one hosts point, to explain them, is smart for new or returning listeners like me. Thanks!
– the actual additions to the rule book to make this set work are gonna be fairly small.
Dont make the additions Toby, let WotC make them themselves !
Another interesting interaction that you should be aware of are the eldrazi processors interacting with the oblivion ring effects in this set.
As far as i understand if you manage to “process” anything exiled by e.g. Aligned hedron network, when the network is destroyed there is nothing in exile for it to return.